IN THE NEWS: New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Law in Effect October 29
Close
 

IN THE NEWS: New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Law in Effect October 29

New Jersey employers and employers with employees in the state, regardless of size or number of employees, are now required to provide one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to 40 hours in a benefit year, to all employees, including part-time and seasonal, with some minor exceptions. Employees may begin to use accrued sick leave 120 days after they start employment, or earlier if an employer allows. Since it affects most New Jersey employees and includes notice requirements, employers should get up to speed on the new requirements to ensure compliance.

New Jersey Sick Leave Poster